One College Girl's Makeup Journey

Birchbox March 2013

DSC00697

This month’s Birchbox really impressed me. I’ve been on the fence with Birchbox for the last few months and this box has convince me to give them a second chance for at least one more month. It really felt like the box was completely filled, because not only was every sample a great size, but there were six samples! I haven’t had a box with six samples since the summer. Not only were there six samples, but the also included an extra cardboard sample of the new concealer from Benefit.

DSC00705

The first thing that caught my eye was this Sumita Color Intense Pencil in Tasha. I love eyeliners and I love blue so I was excited to get this. I think the color payoff its too great and it would take a few swipes to get the opacity I like, but it’s such a pretty color that I can see myself using it. I do wish however it were a little more creamier.

Blue Swatch

Swatched twice

          DSC00704 DSC00703

The next item in the box that caught my eye was this emery board form Madewell for Birchbox. I’m not the biggest fan of Madewell, I think they are too overpriced, but I really needed a new emery board, so I was happy to get this. And the pattern is so pretty for Spring.

DSC00702

The next sample is a travel sized sample of Whish Shave Cream in the scent Blueberry. I personally love getting shave creams in sample boxes because I’m really lazy about buying them. This will definitely get used with the upcoming warm months.

DSC00701

Another great sized sample was this Vasanti Brighten Up! face wash. I love trying new face washes and have been waiting to get one from Birchbox since I first signed up. I really excited to use this, and who doesn’t want a brighter complexion?

DSC00700  DSC00698

The last two sample are from Miss Jesse’s hair care line. Shampoo and conditioner are another thing that I like to change up often, and lucky the shampoo is sulfate free, so I can use it! What I don’t like is the packaging, because even though for me they may be one time uses, for someone with short hair, they would be able to get multiple uses and the packaging make it difficult to do so. I also don’t really like that they included a sample the blatantly say FREE on it, but they did list it as an extra, so I guess it’s okay.

  DSC00716

Lastly, they included a small cardboard sample, that was not included on the card, of the new Benefit Hydrating concealer. When this product was announced, it really sparked my interest. I so glad that I can try it before really considering buying it.

Overall I’m extremely happy with this box. As I said before, it’s convinced me to stay subscribed for another month. Hopefully they can continue to impress me 🙂

Comments on: "Birchbox March 2013" (2)

  1. Must Have Boxes said:

    That blue eyeliner is fabulous! I’m a little jealous. I just posted the review of my March Birchbox on my blog. It’s the best Birchbox I’ve ever received!

    – KW
    http://musthaveboxes.com

    • Our boxes had some of the same things! I love the Make products you got, I was hoping for something from them. But I won’t complain, I like the eyeliner I got too much to complain. 🙂

Leave a comment