One College Girl's Makeup Journey

Ipsy March 2013

DSC00719

This month’s Ipsy bag had a travel theme. Everything in the bag would be great to take with you on a trip, especially the cute bag with anchor’s, which I’ve already started to carry around. I’m actually really impressed with this bag because although initially half the bag didn’t seem like anything special, but I’ve been using EVERYTHING from the bag since I got t.

The first item in the bag was a small pack of LA Fresh Make Up Removing Wipes. I go through makeup wipes rather quickly, and was out when these came. I would recommend NOT using this if you use makeup wipes before working out. They leave behind an oily residue, which you probably don’t want on your face while exercising. But for night time use before washing your face, they work great. They take off eye makeup easily with no excessive rubbing. I don’t think I would go out of my way to buy these again, put if I saw them after running out of my Simple wipes, I’d think about  picking them up.

Next is the Juice Beauty Hydrating Mist. I’ve been using this each night as a toner. I found that it’s effective for getting that extra dirt and oil off and tightening my pores after washing my face. It has a light floral scent, that fades quickly after applying. I’m never picky about toners, but I do generally prefer Lush’s Tea Tree Toner, so I probably won’t buy this again, but I do plan on using all of it.

Yaby Eye Shadow Seashell & Azalea

The next two items are eyeshadow pans from Yaby Cosmetics. Yaby is a canadian cosmetics company, that seems to be very makeup artist friendly. They sell face product sets with multiple skin tones and powder & lip products in loose magnetic pans. The two colors I got this month were Seashell & Azalea. The pans are small width wise, but are deeper than most other pan shadows I have. I have been interested in Yaby for awhile and was excited to be able to try their shadows. However, the ones I received are not greatly pigment. Even over Urban Decay’s Primer Potion, they were fairly light. I have heard from others who also recieved these shadows that applying them wet does intensify the color. I am still planning on getting a few more Yaby shadows, but after trying these, I will not get as many as I originally planned.

DSC00734

DSC00735

Both of these swatches are over Urban Decay’s Primer Potion. The left is Seashell and the right is Azalea.

DSC00720

DSC00721

The last item in the bag was the Glam Rx magnetic palette. I love magnetic palettes for three reasons: 1) Buying eyeshadow with out the excess packaging is better for the environment 2) I like being able to customize palette with colors combinations I love 3) It makes it easier for me to use all of my shadows cause I can see more at once.  This palette is about the size of a credit card and when you open it up it has a small mirror inside. I think this is the perfect size for an overnight trip. I went through my  pan products to figure out what exactly can fit inside.

What Fits Inside (about):

8 Yaby shadows/ Costal Scent Sample shadows

2 Inglot shadows/ Tarte shadow from palettes

1 Inglot blush

I really do like this bag. Not only were there things that I have wanted to try for awhile, put also things that I never would have given a second glance to, but have ended up liking. And I especially love the palette 🙂

Comments on: "Ipsy March 2013" (2)

  1. Must Have Boxes said:

    I’m a fan of this month’s Ipsy bag! I thought all of the products are great except the eye shadow (I don’t like have loose shadow palettes).

    – KW
    http://musthaveboxes.com

    • I have a few magnetic palettes so I easily found a place for them. I just wish they had a little more pigmentation. The bag this month was pretty great. I’ve been using everything I got.

Leave a comment